Highly Cited Researcher 2021

Prof Ong has been identified by Clarivate as a Highly Cited Researcher in 2021! Each year, Clarivate identifies the world’s most influential researchers ─ the select few who have been most frequently cited by their peers over the last decade. In 2021, fewer than 6,700, or about 0.1%, of the world’s researchers, in 21 research fields and across multiple fields, have earned this exclusive distinction.

EFRC Ten at Ten Award

Our group alumnus Paul Lin is part of a collaboration that won the DOE’s Energy Frontier Research Center’s “Ten at Ten” award! This award is in recognition of the NorthEast Center for Chemical Energy Storage highly successful efforts at enabling a fully rechargeable multi-electron battery cathode (see our joint publications on VOPO4). Our collaborators in this work are Carrie Siu (Whittingham group), Ieuan Seymour (Grey group) and Jatin Rana (Piper group).

Accelerating Materials Science with HT Computations and Machine Learning

Prof Ong’s review article as a finalist for the Rising Stars in Computational Materials Science is now available. This review outlines the efforts in the Materials Virtual Lab to integrate software automation, data generation and curation and machine learning to (i) design and optimize technological materials for energy storage, energy efficiency and high-temperature alloys; (ii) develop scalable quantum-accurate models, and (iii) enhance the speed and accuracy in interpreting characterization spectra.

Gareth Thomas Materials Excellence Award 2018

Our former group member, Zhenbin Wang, has just been awarded the Gareth Thomas Materials Excellence Award 2018! This award honors Prof Gareth Thomas, professor emeritus of UC Berkeley and Associate Director of the Institute of Mechanics and Materials at UC San Diego, and a leading Materials SCience of the 20th century. Congratulations to Zhenbin on this great honor and we wish him all the best in his postdoctoral stint at the group of Prof Jens Norskov in DTU!

Scialog: Advanced Energy Storage Team Award

Prof Ong’s team is one of six teams selected for the Scialog Advanced Energy Storage Team Awards by the Research Corporation (Rescorp) for Science Advancement. This project is a collaboration with Prof Scott Warren of University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and Prof Zhenxing Feng of Oregon State University to develop high-voltage dual-ion batteries. More information can be found in the Rescorp press release.

Prof Ong is an awardee of the 2016 ONR Young Investigator Program

Professor Ong has been selected as one of the 2016 recipients for the ONR Young Investigator Program (YIP) Award. This award seeks to identify and support academic scientists and engineers who are in their first or second full-time tenure-track or tenure-track-equivalent academic appointment and who show exceptional promise for doing creative research. The program’s objectives are to attract outstanding faculty members to the Department of Navy’s research program, to support their research, and to encourage their teaching and research careers.